About Us

The Choir

We are the francophone/francophile choir of Greater Vancouver. Our choristers, who are from all over the Lower-Fraser region, come together every Monday evening in Maillardville, Coquitlam’s francophone quarter.We strive to promote francophone culture through song. We sing in French and English, as well as in other languages

Rehearsals

We meet Monday nights in Maillardville, the Francophone quarter of Coquitlam.

Come to our practices

Assistant Choir Director

Alex Gowans

Alex Gowans face view

Les Échos du Pacifique are also supported by the gifted Alex Gowans, who has been involved in choral music since he was a young lad.

Read Bio

Collaboration

We welcome the opportunity to sing with other groups, as was the case on May 6, 2018, when Les Échos found themselves on stage intermingled with two choirs affiliated with the Vancouver Academy of Music singing works by the French composer, Gabriel Fauré.

At our Christmas concert 2018, we were pleased to share the stage with a francophone school choir from l’Ecole Elémentaire Anne-Hébert, Vancouver.

The Director

Marla Mayson

Marla Mayson, profile

Originaire du Québec, elle se consacre au chant depuis sa jeune adolescence. Elle possède une variété d’expériences en chant solo et en chant choral.

Read bio

The Pianist

Rita Attrot

Portrait Rita Attrot

Les Échos du Pacifique are delighted to have the services of Rita Attrot, a devoted piano teacher, an erudite and accomplished musician.

Read bio

History

Concert Spring 1993

The beginning

It was back in 1973 when several amateur francophone singers got together in Maillardville to create Les Échos du Pacifique. The choir sang at Expo 86 in Vancouver. In 1989, our group accompanied Gilles Vigneault at the Orpheum Theatre at his performance in Vancouver.

Milestones

We  celebrated our 20th anniversary by a tour in Quebec. Our 25th. anniversary was highlighted by a recording entitled Déjà 25 ans made in the studios of Radio-Canada. To mark our 30th. birthday, we put on a a concert featuring excerpts from musicals from the past thirty years. In an amateur song competition organized in 2004 by Radio-Canada, the choir made it to the quarter-finals, in the cultural tradition category. In 2009-2010, the Échos du Pacifique, still dynamic and lively as ever, participated in a number of celebrations, including the 100th. anniversary of the founding of Maillardville and the Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

Songs from the past

Les Échos du Pacifique ont interprété une variété de styles musicaux pour une multitude d’occasions

Listen

La Chorale

La Chorale

Nous sommes la chorale francophone/francophile du Grand Vancouver. Nos choristes viennent de tous les coins du Bas-Fraser. Nous promouvons la culture francophone à travers la chanson. On chante en français, ainsi qu’en anglais et en d’autres langues.

Nos répétitions

On se retrouve les lundis soir à Maillardville, le quartier francophone de Coquitlam.

Venez à nos pratiques

Le Chef de choeur adjoint

Alex Gowans

Alex Gowans vu de face

Les Échos du Pacifique sont également soutenus par le talentueux Alex Gowans, qui pratique le chant choral depuis sa jeunesse.

Lisez la biographie

Collaboration

Notre chorale apprécie l’occasion de chanter avec d’autres chorales.  C’était le cas le 6 mai 2018 quand nous nous sommes retrouvés sur la scène avec deux autres chorales affiliées avec VAM (l’Académie de Musique à Vancouver) en chantant les pièces de Gabriel Fauré, compositeur français. 

À notre Concert de Noël en 2018, nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à partager la scène avec une petite chorale francophone, l’Ecole Élémentaire Anne-Hébert de Vancouver.

Le Chef de choeur

Marla Mayson

Marla Mayson, vue de profil

Originaire du Québec, elle se consacre au chant depuis sa jeune adolescence. Elle possède une variété d’expériences en chant solo et en chant choral.

Lire la biographie

La pianiste

Rita Attrot

Portrait de Rita Attrot, souriante

Les Échos du Pacifique ont la chance de bénéficier des services de Rita Attrot, à la fois professeur de piano et musicienne érudite accomplie.

Lire la biographie

Historique

Notre parcours

Concert Printemps 1993

Au commencement

C’est en 1973, à Maillardville, que quelques chanteurs francophones amateurs créèrent la chorale Les Échos du Pacifique. Elle participa à l’Expo 86 de Vancouver. En 1989, notre chorale accompagna Gilles Vigneault à l’Orpheum lors de son passage à Vancouver.

Étapes marquantes

Nous célébrâmes nos 20 ans d’existence par une tournée au Québec. Nous marquâmes notre 25e anniversaire avec un enregistrement, fait aux studios de Radio-Canada, intitulé Déjà 25 ans. Lors de notre 30e anniversaire, nous offrîmes un concert de comédies musicales des trente dernières années. La chorale atteignit les quarts de finale, catégorie tradition culturelle, du concours amateur de chants choral organisé par Radio-Canada en 2004. En 2009-2010, les Échos du Pacifique, toujours aussi dynamique et vivant, participa à diverses célébrations, dont le 100e anniversaire de Maillardville et les Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Vancouver.

Extraits du passé

Les Échos du Pacifique ont interprété une variété de styles musicaux pour une multitude d’occasions

Écoutez